Solid ground

I thought that I was a bit shaky on my feet. My ankle had sprained and I lost my job (can’t do my job with a sprained ankle) but I kept on pushing forward. I opened up my time to help out with an anti-violence fundraiser, a labor daze event, a couple films and a tv ad. I don’t know how to “take it easy”. I never learned. I find my value in my contribution to helping others. I suppose this is why I’ve been laid up. I had something to learn. Thankfully the financial crunch wasn’t so much that I lost focus of my purpose.

Since I’ve been at home I’ve reorganized my surroundings. I had lost track of misc. repairs that needed to be caught up. I had ignored the twinge in my ankle until it was gone from beneath me and my own stability was rocked and needed to recover. I’ve been reconnecting with my home, my body and my goals. It seems that I have done so just in time to help my friends stabilize into taking their steps toward stability as well.

I’m thankful that I’ve been able to help my friends through their rough times. I would have felt guilty had I not been able to help them when they asked for it. I couldn’t help them financially. They didn’t ask. They only wanted a friendly ear, a soft shoulder and some motivation and love for who they are, where they’ve been and a echo of support in the direction they want for themselves. Once we put it into our own words it’s easier to draw a map to get there. Actionable steps, anything is possible. We can create anything we want but we have to do it with respect. I thought that I had been sidelined and useless. I was beating myself up a bit for being laid up and without a job. Even my injury served it’s purpose. I’ve reconnected with my goals in time to be clear for my friends. One of my friends told me that it was my upbeat attitude during this rough time that reminded her to ask me for guidance when she needed it. I’d say that we all benefited from my injury. I was laid up, not out. Things still worked out well and we’re all going to be better off for the journey. Shaky as things were we always go back to where we know we will find our solid ground of love. <3

About Laura DeLucio Gross

The beauty of the word is the subconscious nature in which it finds it's way upon our lips or past our fingertips. The stroke of our fingers on a pen or a key or the softest breath carried past our lips have such an impact that friends, relatives and strangers can carry such words with them in their minds, to come along with us on a journey into our thoughts. In our darkest hours we must always remember to remain conscious that people have lived and died by words. I am a wife, mother, confidant and friend to many. There are no strangers in my world. Only friends that I have not yet had a chance to know. Sensually minded, self-educated, street wise, natural living, power tool wielding, minimalist mom with transcendental aspirations.
This entry was posted in Lost Forwards and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

