zach and scott zombiesSneak peek! I can’t seem to get involved with a project without figuring out a way to give back a little more than expected to all involved. When I would watch a movie it occurred to me how much waste was involved. There was an obvious intention to filling out a story and making everything seems a piece and plausible. props were procured, actors were cast to fill out a theme and an fulfilment of a dream in theme. I love storytelling. I can understand the purpose behind the design and the elements involved in engaging the mind. As with all of my endeavors, it occurred to me that I couldn’t critique until I could engage a sustainable model as an alternative to be used when at all possible. Of course, this won’t always be the case, but I could try.

sage zombie
We became involved with the local community theater, which runs on a tight budget and tighter space. We’re thankful to be in a town with a penchant for resource recovery. Thrift shops, consignment shops and repurposing is a way of life for many here. Not solely out of necessity but for the novelty and creative outlet it affords us in our daily lives. I’m grateful to this town for providing an outlet to the arts. I’m grateful to the local businesses that allow us the freedom to film and pursue our own goals. We ventured out from Community Theater at the Acrosstown Repertory Theater for a bit of film.

I’m thankful for GFC for allowing me to help with finding locations for the project. I’m thankful for Nicholas May and Brett English, the co-director’s and co-writer’s of the pilot “Generation Z”that encouraged us to move on the project. Thank you to Creative Commons for the fantastic track. Thank you to Leonardo’s Millhopper for opening your space and being such gracious hosts to Gainesville Film Club for the Pilot of Generation Z, as well as your contribution to Labor Daze Fest 2014.
scott and sage zombies

We hit a two in one. We got our NBC Pilot filmed and orchestrated a commercial for Leonardo’s Pizza of Millhopper. Thanks to Michelle Catania for the editing and makeup. Nicholas May for the writing and sound. Chase,..(I need your last name for the camera work). Special thanks to our 2 for 1 actors Wilfredo J. Gonzalez, Scott Gross, my husband, and Sage Gross, my son, as the pizza boy and zombies, respectively. This will be airing on TV20 starting the 8th of October 2014 in Gainesville, Florida at 7:45 p.m. Enjoy! Leonardo’s Millhopper Commercial – No Brains About It

About Laura DeLucio Gross

The beauty of the word is the subconscious nature in which it finds it's way upon our lips or past our fingertips. The stroke of our fingers on a pen or a key or the softest breath carried past our lips have such an impact that friends, relatives and strangers can carry such words with them in their minds, to come along with us on a journey into our thoughts. In our darkest hours we must always remember to remain conscious that people have lived and died by words. I am a wife, mother, confidant and friend to many. There are no strangers in my world. Only friends that I have not yet had a chance to know. Sensually minded, self-educated, street wise, natural living, power tool wielding, minimalist mom with transcendental aspirations.
Link | This entry was posted in Another Perspective and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In the interests of giving back during filmmaking

  1. domain info says:

    Hi there, I take your blogs day-after-day. Your humoristic expressive style is witty, sustenance it up!

  2. Just saw this reply. Thank you for the encouragement. I’ll be sure to update more often. I’m often caught in a delicious whirlwind of chaos I forget to log the journey. I wish you well. <3

Leave a Reply

