Second Chance for a First Impression

The pleasure of a second chance for a first impression,.

Oh, hi! Oh, my God. I thought I knew you but I couldn’t place you. How have you been? Wow,. I haven’t seen you for awhile. You look great! I didn’t recognize you! How long has it been?

~wouldn’t this be nice? I want it for you, too. =)~

We rarely think about how long it takes us to randomly bump into the friends that we feel close to but rarely see. For example, I’m currently in possession of the keys to my friends’ apartment that I’ve had for over a month now because I cat sat for them during their honeymoon a month ago. No worries, time passes. I’ll see them soon. But, for the friends and customers I’ve had over the years since I’ve been here,.. I see them rarely. Annually sometimes, which, for the air conditioning clients,. seasonally is about right for both of us depending on their filtration tactics. ~.- (write me for advice, if you need it.) Anyhow, back to the topic. We live our lives and unless there’s a gathering nearby that I can attend between family obligations and prior plans I will have to see you when fate intervenes. It’s good for us that this is a small town for residents. In this case, the last time that I saw this particular client was four years ago when I put in the duct work and air conditioning for her house with my hubby and I was nearly a hundred pounds heavier. I could understand their initial confusion.

They mentioned that the husband has recently lost a lot of weight as prescribed and that she was following with the same program. They were having the same problems that I experienced with my husband. Not problems though. That’s the way it is with weight loss. Guys lose weight faster. It’s the diet. They change something up and their body reacts quickly. Why shouldn’t they? They don’t have the multitude of chemical reactions that go with a women’s ability to create life. We need to process, determine a pattern and then we adapt. It’s survival, baby. My hubby dropped weight quickly and sometimes it was ten pounds to my two and he wasn’t even trying to exercise quite yet.

Since I had last seen this couple I had evaluated and changed our diet. Diet meaning “what we eat” as opposed to “what we can eat”. Everything in balance. I believe in organized chaos. Sometimes you NEED that burger from that place that is so,. BAD but tastes so GOOD. I made complex meals of simple ingredients. My tactic was to eat high nutrient food to offset the smaller meals. I only made the recommended recipe for four with no side dishes. I feared a revolt. I got dirty looks sometimes. I always heard that they were still hungry. No problem. ~.- If you’re still hungry I have snack options, too. Yeah, that didn’t always go over very well,. but! You can access the snacks in thirty minutes, should you feel the need.

At first they were still hungry. I worried that I wouldn’t be able to afford to feed the family as I had hoped. It was difficult to cut away from prepackaged convenience foods that I had grown up with, too. But, I was homeschooling now and I wanted our family to know a better way to eat. I had grown up overweight and I remember crying when I hit 200 lbs+ at the doctors office when I was 15. I was strong, but no,.that wasn’t going to be enough. I didn’t know how to eat. I only knew that if I was hungry I had to eat whatever was around. We didn’t have much unless I was working at my aunt’s restaurant and then I had the entire menu to choose from when I had a break, I wasn’t picky but I usually ate the same thing.

It did occur to me that the new diet would be supplementing vitamins that our bodies hadn’t had and sorely needed. Of course, our body would be triggered to stock up on the exotic. I could picture the little muscles cells waiting by their river ports as red blood cells poured in distributing aid to our poor overworked and deprived nations. Self-government begins with you. What I can say is that by feeding your body more quality nutrients that you are providing better materials for growth and cell division. Who wants to store their blueprints on a rusty jumpdrive or build their home from hollow board? Especially, if it’s going to be transferred into the code of human DNA for who knows how long. After a couple weeks of repetition, our bodies adapted and our stomach capacity shrunk to allow for the snacks and smaller meals.

I didn’t always eat seven times a day. I do now. I didn’t always drink enough water. In fact, that was one of the hardest changes to make. But, now it’s a conscious choice. I eat depending on need, what I’m doing, how long between meals, what am I trying to achieve? My hubby eats depending on the time of day. Weekdays, weekend, if he goes off schedule he’s out of whack and I have to figure out what I can do to balance it. There’s a system. It’s a plan. I’m going to give the basics of what I came up using various sources from diet books to biology with the next blog,

.Image

About Laura DeLucio Gross

The beauty of the word is the subconscious nature in which it finds it's way upon our lips or past our fingertips. The stroke of our fingers on a pen or a key or the softest breath carried past our lips have such an impact that friends, relatives and strangers can carry such words with them in their minds, to come along with us on a journey into our thoughts. In our darkest hours we must always remember to remain conscious that people have lived and died by words. I am a wife, mother, confidant and friend to many. There are no strangers in my world. Only friends that I have not yet had a chance to know. Sensually minded, self-educated, street wise, natural living, power tool wielding, minimalist mom with transcendental aspirations.
This entry was posted in Mirrored reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

