Fair shake – I’m fiercely non-competitive

I’m fiercely non-competitive, which would make sense if you know who I am. I don’t train to outperform anyone but myself. We’re teammates, if anything and by improving we are both motivated to train. You see that I want it. I see that you want it. We have our differences but the same goal. I don’t want any advantage that I haven’t worked for myself.

I see the other applicants training in my gym and I don’t see them as competition.  In fact, I wish them the best. Although I am training hard I can only ever do my best. I never thought that I would apply to be a firefighter. As of a couple years ago I had a hard enough time moving myself to believe that I could ever help another in a physical capacity.  Actually, this is why I began watching my diet and training.  I saw a picture of myself and realized that I was not the person that I dreamed that I could be and rather than punishing myself I took action. I wanted to be better able to serve those I care about. I was having a hard time moving and I knew that I definitely didn’t want to slow anyone down as I tried to keep up. I’m an altruistic humanitarian and as long as we are capable of change I am willing to do my part to spur the action. But, it isn’t about me. It never has been.  It’s for you.

I will train and I am motivated to do my best. I don’t see competition in any regard.  What I see is many people wanting to do a job and/or serve a purpose.  If someone else is better suited to the task, then so be it.  I’ll be in better shape and I know that I tried. My only competition is myself. We’re teammates, you and I. You may not acknowledge it but there it is.  I wouldn’t want the job if I’m not going to be as useful a team member as possible and if someone is better suited.  Bravo.  I wish you well.  Keep it up.  We need you.  I’ll reapply and do what I can whereever I find myself.  For us. 

In the meanwhile, in the week since I applied to the fire department I have worked hard to incorporate additional training to my normal conditioning workout.  I added a weight vest and the stair machine to the beginning of my workout.  Tomorrow, I hope to find some strenuous out of the gym workouts to do and maybe some yoga in the evenings.  I’ve been watching my diet with only the normal nod to controlled chaos that comes from a weekend and family pressure for something delicious and slightly off the nutritional scale.  Needless to say, I have my eye on performing at my best and as always, ever improving.  I have been blessed to have the support of my friends and family. 

 

About Laura DeLucio Gross

The beauty of the word is the subconscious nature in which it finds it's way upon our lips or past our fingertips. The stroke of our fingers on a pen or a key or the softest breath carried past our lips have such an impact that friends, relatives and strangers can carry such words with them in their minds, to come along with us on a journey into our thoughts. In our darkest hours we must always remember to remain conscious that people have lived and died by words. I am a wife, mother, confidant and friend to many. There are no strangers in my world. Only friends that I have not yet had a chance to know. Sensually minded, self-educated, street wise, natural living, power tool wielding, minimalist mom with transcendental aspirations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

